Research schemes

Disaster Research Unit (DRU), Berlin

The subproject of the Disaster Research Unit is dedicated to the analysis of historical, social and international processes, structures, dynamics and responsibilities at the intersection of civil protection, humanitarian aid, flight and migration.

This analysis follows a multi-level approach, which includes developments before the European refugee situation of 2015/16, as well as resulting changes in the field of civil protection (for instance the discussion of new strategies in the civil defence field) and international humanitarian aid. In addition to an examination of the relevant global processes, especially in the Middle East, the importance of European procedures such as the European Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM) in managing refugee movements or the humanitarian commitment of DG ECHO from 2016-2019 in Greece are reflected. A further level of analysis is the access via procedures and practices – partly completely newly developed in the context of the 2015/16 refugee situation – of relevant national actors in civil protection (authorities, aid organisations, etc.) or the BAMF, as well as of international UN organisations such as UNHCR and IOM and international aid organisations, which determine or have determined the field of humanitarian aid in a European refugee aid context. A cross-organisational quantitative survey of all national civil protection organisations involved in the project generates an overview of procedures, practices and challenges in the care of large groups of people. These analyses serve to preserve knowledge and experience gained thus far and to enrich existing knowledge with that from other fields of knowledge which have so far received little attention. Finally, national and international best practices will be developed which serve as a basis for future civil protection orientations – not only in the context of refugee situations, but also for other cross-border civil protection scenarios.

Project lead:

Prof. Dr. Martin Voss | martin.voss[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/en/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/Leitung/voss/index.html

Team:

Dr. Cordula Dittmer | cordula.dittmer[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/en/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/mitarbeiter/dittmer/index.html

Daniel Lorenz | daniel.lorenz[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/en/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/mitarbeiter/lorenz/index.html

German Red Cross (GRC), Berlin

The GRC National Headquarters‘ sub-project focuses on the development of practice-oriented recommendations for successful cooperation with aid and civil society organisations. Having been very active in refugee relief in 2015/2016 in Germany, the GRC established numerous collaborations with actors such as refugee initiatives, associations and unaffiliated volunteers. Now, the established structures shall be evaluated and transferred to a more generalizable level in order to gain examples of Good Practices, Lessons Learned and other recommendations for action. To this end, a nationwide survey within the GRC association will be conducted. Moreover, pre-existing knowledge management approaches used by the GRC will be analysed, especially those which were created ad-hoc and which included civil society actors, to develop recommendations for further development of these approaches.

Project lead:

Matthias Max | forschung[at]drk.de | https://www.drk.de/en/research/

TH Köln (University of Applied Sciences), Cologne

In the subproject “Methods, quality criteria and technical instruments of knowledge management in civil protection” the TH Köln (University of Applied Sciences Cologne) enhances the systematics of a knowledge management system appropriate for civil protection. In a first step, a glossary is designed which includes both essential and newly acquired terms for knowledge management and thus serves as a basis for the whole project. Although knowledge management has long been an issue in civil protection, although (in most cases) not under this term, the various project and external partners require a terminological basis to understand what is embraced by the concept of “knowledge management”.

Knowledge management concepts from economics and organizational research offer examples, for example, many organizations and institutions have organized meetings and exchanges of experience or technical solutions such as shared databases. However, there are specific requirements for civil protection. For example, despite existing forms of organization and technical solutions, there are shortcomings in the collection, documentation and permanent provision for different actors. After incidents and crises, there is often no time to document and evaluate the situation in detail and thereby make use of the gained knowledge in future scenarios. Moreover, there is a lack of acknowledgement that operating knowledge management is worth the effort, because it is perceived as a time-consuming addition to the regular work. However, there are already relatively common forms of knowledge management, such as de-briefings, conferences, Lessons Learned Studies, and in a sense, also research-practice projects such as WAKE, SiKoMi or others. Several predecessor projects underlined the significance of the additional value of a systematic knowledge management. For this purpose, criteria for additional value were elaborated together with partners from practice. This work will be continued by the TH Köln within the WAKE-Project by combining and further developing established criteria from evaluation research and practice with criteria for knowledge management specified by the users. With these criteria, the knowledge management approaches that are generally available in the BOS can be systematically analyzed and evaluated, and recommendations for a valid knowledge management in civil protection can be developed.

Project lead:

Prof. Dr. Alexander Fekete | alexander.fekete[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/alexander.fekete/

Team:

Celia Norf | celia.norf[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/celia.norf/

Petra Tiller | petra.tiller[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/petra.tiller/

Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe e.V., Leipzig

In the subproject „knowledge management as a educational content“, the Johanniter-Academy Central Germany focuses the structures of the Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe (JUH) on the refugee situation in 2015/16. The output of the subproject is the implementation of the results in civil protection and its educational system. The JUH as a humanitarian aid organization was active in 158 locations in civil protection and refugee relief in Germany. Thus, the knowledge from the context of refugee relief in 2015/16 needs to be collected and structured for a systematic knowledge management. The empirical data and its consequential knowledge set the foundation for newly educational concepts and modules. These concepts and modules gained from the empirical data will help civil protection actors in further migration-related and non-migration-related contexts in the future.

Project lead:

Thomas Kohns | thomas.kohns[at]johanniter.de

Jana Goldberg | jana.goldberg[at]johanniter.de

Team:

Franz Peter | franz.peter[at]johanniter.de

Federal Agency for Technical Relief (THW), Bonn

The Federal Agency for Technical Relief (THW) is represented in WAKE by its security research office, which will address the conception of an operational knowledge management system in order to preserve, process and store knowledge acquired in their operations with the aim of increasing operational knowledge availability and ease of access for future use. This will be done using the example of the refugee situation 2015/2016.

During the refugee situation THW received and operationalized over 9,000 requests for support. Many of the requests were uncommon and outside THW’s planned and trained standard operating procedures. Thus, several improvisations and individual solutions were found to meet the need. However, these solutions and the knowledge pertaining to them has not been recorded or shared in a structured manner. As a result, knowledge is often held by the involved personnel or operational unit. The project aims to reveal what knowledge was gained during this unprecedented situation and which methods were used for passing it on. In the process of the project, the knowledge gained will be collected, recorded, structured, analysed and processed. For this purpose, a knowledge management system based on the needs and requirements of the THW will be designed, tested, evaluated and finally introduced for the whole organisation. In addition, it is planned to feed the gained knowledge about dealing with the refugee situation into a knowledge database and incorporate it into the educational concepts of THW.

Project lead:

Klaus-Dieter Büttgen | forschung[at]thw.de

Teilvorhaben

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS), Berlin

Das Teilprojekt der Katastrophenforschungsstelle widmet sich der Analyse historischer, gesamtgesellschaftlicher und internationaler Prozesse, Strukturen, Dynamiken und Zuständigkeiten an der Schnittstelle von Bevölkerungsschutz, humanitärer Hilfe, Flucht und Migration.

Diese Analyse verfolgt einen Mehrebenenansatz: So werden sowohl Entwicklungen vor der europäischen Flüchtlingssituation 2015/16 als auch daraus resultierende Veränderungen im Bereich des Bevölkerungsschutzes, z.B. der Diskussion von neuen Strategien im Bereich des Zivilschutzes, als auch der internationalen humanitären Hilfe einbezogen. Neben einer Betrachtung der relevanten globalen Prozesse, insbesondere im Nahen und Mittleren Osten, werden europäische Verfahren wie die Bedeutung des europäischen Zivilschutzmechanismus (UCPM) bei der Bewältigung von Flüchtlingsbewegungen oder das humanitäre Engagement von DG ECHO von 2016-2019 in Griechenland reflektiert. Eine weitere Analyseebene ist der Zugang über – zum Teil im Rahmen der Flüchtlingssituation 2015/16 vollkommen neu entwickelten – Verfahren und Praktiken relevanter nationaler Akteure des Bevölkerungsschutzes (Behörden, Hilfsorganisationen usw.) oder des BAMF sowie von internationalen UN-Organisationen wie UNHCR und IOM und internationalen Hilfsorganisationen, die das Feld der humanitären Hilfe im Kontext der europäischen Flüchtlingshilfe bestimmen bzw. bestimmt haben. Durch eine organisationsübergreifende quantitative Befragung aller am Projekt beteiligten nationalen Bevölkerungsschutzorganisationen wird ein Überblick über Verfahren, Praktiken und Herausforderungen in der Betreuung großer Menschengruppen generiert. Diese Analysen dienen einerseits dem Erhalt bisher erlangten Wissens und Erfahrungen sowie der Anreicherung von vorhandenen Wissensbeständen mit Wissensbeständen anderer bislang wenig beachteter Wissensfelder. Am Ende werden nationale und internationale Best Practices erarbeitet, die als Grundlage für zukünftige Ausrichtungen des Bevölkerungsschutzes – nicht nur im Kontext von Flüchtlingslagen, sondern auch für andere grenzüberschreitende Szenarien des Bevölkerungsschutzes – dienen.

Projektleitung:

Prof. Dr. Martin Voss | martin.voss[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/Leitung/voss/index.html

Mitarbeiter*innen:

Dr. Cordula Dittmer | cordula.dittmer[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/mitarbeiter/dittmer/index.html

Daniel Lorenz | daniel.lorenz[at]fu-berlin.de | https://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/personen/mitarbeiter/lorenz/index.html

Deutsches Rotes Kreuz e. V. (DRK), Berlin

Das Teilprojekt des Deutschen Roten Kreuz Generalsekretariat widmet sich der Entwicklung praxisorientierter Empfehlungen für gelingende Kooperationen mit (Hilfs-)Organisationen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren. Das DRK war umfassend in der Flüchtlingshilfe 2015/16 aktiv. Dabei entstanden zahlreiche Kooperationen mit weiteren Akteuren wie Flüchtlingsinitiativen, Vereine und ungebundene HelferInnen, um die bestehenden Aufgaben und Herausforderungen bewältigen zu können. Diese ad-hoc etablierten Strukturen gilt es zu analysieren und auf eine generalisierbare Ebene zu überführen, um daraus Beispiel für Good Practices, Lessons Learned sowie Handlungsempfehlungen zu konzipieren. Dafür wird u.a. eine bundesweite Erhebung innerhalb des Verbandes durchgeführt. Zudem werden bereits vorhandene Wissensmanagementansätze die vom DRK genutzt werden analysiert, insbesondere jene, die ad-hoc entstanden sind und zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure miteinbeziehen, um Vorschläge für eine Weiterentwicklung dieser Ansätze und bestehenden Methoden machen zu können.

Projektleitung:

Matthias Max | forschung[at]drk.de | www.drk-forschung.de

Technische Hochschule Köln (TH Köln), Köln

Die TH Köln entwickelt in einem Teilprojekt die Systematik eines Wissensmanagementsystems für den Bevölkerungsschutz weiter. Dazu werden zunächst aufzunehmende Begriffe und Terminologien für ein Glossar zusammengestellt, in das sowohl grundlegende als auch neu zu erfassende Begriffe für Wissensmanagement aufgenommen werden, anhand dessen das Gesamtprojekt systematisch arbeiten kann. “Wissensmanagement” war im Bevölkerungsschutz zwar an sich schon seit langer Zeit ein Thema, wenn auch nicht unter diesem Begriff, die verschiedenen Projekt- wie externen Partner benötigen nun aber zunächst eine terminologische Basis, um zu wissen, was alles unter das Konzept “Wissensmanagement” fällt.

Wissensmanagementkonzepte aus der Wirtschaft und Organisationsforschung bieten zwar Beispiele, wie z.B. die Unterscheidung von organisatorischen und technischen Wissensmanagementkonzepten mit den dazu verbundenen Lösungen. So gibt es in vielen Organisationen und Einrichtungen etwa organisierte Treffen und Sitzungen zum Erfahrungsaustausch oder technische Lösungen wie etwa geteilte Datenbanken. Jedoch wurde auch deutlich, dass es für den Bevölkerungsschutz spezifische Anforderungen gibt. Zum Beispiel gab es trotz vorhandener Organisationsformen und technischer Lösungen immer noch Mängel bei der Erfassung, Dokumentation und dauerhaften Bereitstellung für verschiedene Akteure. Beinahe-Störfälle, Krisen, sowie neue unbekannte Lagen sind seltene, besonders ressourcenaufwändige Ereignisse, bei denen so viel Zeit und Energie in die Bewältigung fließt, dass wenig Zeit oder Aufmerksamkeit für die Dokumentation und deren anschließende Auswertung bleibt. Auch gibt es wenige Kenntnisse, wie man vermitteln kann, dass sich neben der ganzen bürokratischen Aufarbeitung, Berichterstellung und Bewältigung liegengebliebener Aufgaben der Aufwand für das Betreiben eines Wissensmanagements lohnen soll. Es gibt jedoch auch bereits relativ gängige Formen des Wissensmanagements, wie etwa De-Briefings, Tagungen, Lessons Learned Studien, und eben in gewisser Weise auch, Forschungs-Praxis Projekte wie WAKE, SiKoMi oder andere. Dennoch stellte sich in den Vorgängerprojekten die Bedeutung insbesondere der systematischen Belegbarkeit des Mehrwerts eines Wissensmanagements heraus. Dazu wurden gemeinsam mit den Partnern aus der Praxis Kriterien für den Mehrwert erarbeitet. Diese Arbeit wird die TH im WAKE-Projekt fortführen, indem sie etablierte Kriterien aus der Evaluierungsforschung und -praxis mit von den Nutzern genannten Kriterien für Wissensmanagement verbindet und weiterentwickelt. Mithilfe dieser können anschließend die in den BOS generell vorhandenen und potenziell adaptierbaren Ansätze des Wissensmanagements systematisch analysiert und evaluiert werden und Empfehlungen für ein valides Wissensmanagement im Bevölkerungsschutz entwickelt werden.

Projektleitung:

Prof. Dr. Alexander Fekete | alexander.fekete[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/alexander.fekete/

Mitarbeiter*innen:

Celia Norf | celia.norf[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/celia.norf/

Petra Tiller | petra.tiller[at]th-koeln.de | www.th-koeln.de/personen/petra.tiller/

Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe e. V., Leipzig

Die Johanniter-Akademie Mitteldeutschland untersucht im Teilprojekt „Wissensmanagement als Bildungsinhalt“ die verbandseigenen Strukturen der Flüchtlingssituation 2015 / 2016 mit Hinblick auf die Katastrophenschutz-Ausbildung in der Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe (JUH). Die JUH war im gesamten Bundesgebiet (158 Standorte) im Katastrophenschutz und der Flüchtlingshilfe aktiv, woraus Handlungsempfehlungen aus der Praxis für die Zukunft abgeleitet werden sollen. Die informellen Wissensbestände und –quellen sollen analysiert, gesammelt und im Austausch mit den anderen Hilfsorganisationen nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien im Sinne eines Wissensmanagementsystems strukturiert werden. Die Erkenntnisse gilt es in das bestehende Ausbildungssystem des Bevölkerungsschutzes zu überführen. Die Aus- und Weiterbildung im Bevölkerungsschutz muss sich an der soziodemographischen Entwicklung in Deutschland und der JUH orientieren und die aktuellen Erkenntnisse aus der Flüchtlingssituation 20215 / 2016 bei der Weiterentwicklung berücksichtigen. Neben Aufarbeitung der Lage und der Pilotierung migrationsspezifischer Ausbildungsinhalte nach Kriterien der Bevölkerungsschutzpädagogik, besteht die Wichtigkeit Handlungsempfehlungen für zukünftige migrationsspezifische und klassische Lagen zu entwickeln.

Projektleitung:

Thomas Kohns | thomas.kohns[at]johanniter.de

Jana Goldberg | jana.goldberg[at]johanniter.de

Mitarbeiter*innen:

Franz Peter | franz.peter[at]johanniter.de

Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk (THW), Bonn

Die Sicherheitsforschung der Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk (THW) befasst sich mit der Konzeption eines Systems zum strukturierten Bewahren, Aufarbeiten und zur Verfügung stellen des in Einsätzen erworbenen Wissens, um dieses für zukünftige Einsätze abrufbar und somit nutzbar zu machen. Dies wird exemplarisch anhand der Flüchtlingslage 2015/2016, durchgeführt.

Für die mehr als 9.000 Anforderungen, die das THW während der Flüchtlingslage abarbeitete, gab es an vielen Stellen keine der sonst bekannten Einsatzvorplanungen. Stattdessen kamen dort improvisierte Einzellösungen zur Anwendung. Diese Lösungen und das Wissen darum, wurden vielerorts nicht strukturiert erfasst oder geteilt und existiert dadurch oft nur personengebunden. Das Projekt soll zeigen, welches Wissen in der Lage vorhanden war und welche Methoden zur Weitergabe genutzt wurden. Dabei sammelt das Konsortium das im Bundegebiet gewonnene Wissen, erfasst, analysiert und arbeitet es auf. Dazu konzipieren die beteiligten MitarbeiterInnen des THW im Projektverlauf ein Wissensmanagementsystem anhand der Bedarfe und Anforderungen des THW, erproben und evaluieren es und führen es schließlich bundesweit im THW ein. Zusätzlich ist geplant, die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in eine Wissensdatenbank einzuspeisen und in Ausbildungskonzepte einfließen zu lassen.

Projektleitung:

Klaus-Dieter Büttgen | forschung[at]thw.de